recipe from 2022 07 09

zucchini bread (with walnuts!)

I found this recipe in a little recipe pamphlet I found in a little free library (the Zucchini and Squash one from Bear Wallow Books) and then adapted slightly. I brought a loaf to a picnic once and it was a hit

ingredients (two loaves)

ingredients (one loaf)

instructions

You're supposed to do the wet and dry ingredients separately, but in practice I just do it all in one bowl and it's fine. Officially, you should beat together the sugar and eggs, mixing in vanilla and oil. And then in another bowl combine dry ingredients and then stir in the wet mixture, alternating with zucchini, and finally stirring in the nuts.

Unofficially, I grate the zucchini into a bowl and then mix together all the wet ingredients. Then I put all of the dry ingredients on top before stirring everything together. and finally adding the nuts

To bake: Pour into greased, floured 9 x 5 inch loaf pan(s). Bake in preheated 350 F oven for around an hour.

I think that this would be good with some other kinds of spices than just cinnamon! Maybe other warm spices like nutmeg? or mixing in something else fun like dried fruit or chocolate. I like it with butter and jam and sharp cheddar.