recipe from 2021 10 03

oat farls

I first discovered this while trying to find Redwall recipes. the original version I found is on this site but the ratios in that recipe never really worked for me (they just fell apart). I learned that apparently outside the US “oatmeal” can mean porridge oats which are like chopped rolled oats? so that helped explain the original recipe a bit. anyway, this is what has worked best for me:

ingredients

process

Mix the mashed potato with melted butter and salt. work in some of the chopped oats (“porridge oats”) and it will start to form a dough. I find that adding a few tbsps of flour helps the dough stick together more than just having oats; I think the potato to oat ratio I’ve used has been maybe around 3:1 ? but also it mostly just matters that it all comes together. once it is a dough, roll out and cut into fourths (farls) or whatever other shape you desire. I like to use unchopped oats on the board while I roll out the dough so that the farls have oats on their outsides. You can freeze them like this, bake them at 375 F for 15 or so minutes and then freeze them (my preference), or eat them fresh. when you’re ready to eat them, pan fry them in butter.